In Maine: IBEW Local 1837
16 Old Winthrop Road
Manchester, ME 04351
Phone: (207) 623-1030, Fax: (207) 621-8384
In New Hampshire:
680 Central Avenue, Suite 201
Dover, NH 03820
Phone: (603) 743-1652, Fax: (603) 743-1654

IBEW Awards Highest Honor to NH Electric Co-op’s Rob Lang


March 3, 2009 - Surrounded by his IBEW 1837 leaders and members, family, friends, and the man whose life he saved, Rob Lang was presented with the IBEW Life Saving Award at the New Hampshire Electric Co-op’s new Alton District office.


The award stems from an act of heroism last July when Brother Lang came to the rescue of a neighbor in New Durham who was badly injured while using a chain saw in his yard. Emergency medical technicians later said there was no doubt that Rob had prevented the man from bleeding to death.

“You stepped up and your friend and his family are in your debt,” said IBEW Local Union 1837 President Ray Colello. “All your co-workers and all your friends and family really respect what you did.”

As members of the Co-op’s management team looked on, Brother Colello presented a letter from the International’s leadership commending Brother Lang along with a special plaque and pin. The plaque reads:

IBEW Life Saving Award is awarded with appreciation and pride to Rob Lang. July 13, 2008 - Local Union 1837
The greatest service to mankind is the saving of a human life. The above named member of this local union, with presence of mind, prompt action and genuine concern for a fellow man did perform this service on the date specified. All members of the IBEW join in expressing sincere gratitude.

The plaque is signed by Lindell K. Lee, International Secretary-Treasurer and Edwin D. Hill, International President.


President Ray Colello is seen in the far left photo presenting the award. In the group photo, from left: Ray Colello, IBEW 1837 President; Tara Hurtado, Rob's fiancé: Rob Lang, Lifesaver Award Recipient; Cynthia Phinney, IBEW 1837 Business Manager; Tom Ryan, IBEW 1837 Assistant Business Manager; and Arthur Cornelissen, Jr., IBEW 1837 Chief Steward.


You can view a video of the award ceremony by clicking on the embedded YouTube link below.