History of IBEW 1837

The Local, numbered "1837," was formed in 1973, as a result of a merger of several smaller locals from Maine and New Hampshire. It was a time when we all had volunteer "Business Managers" and combining small units allowed the new local to have a budget to support a paid staff. However, the financial goals were not met and a dues change was still needed. Dick Pray was our first Business Manager. When Brother Pray left our local to become an International Representative, he was replaced by Joe Nixon, who had been an Assistant Business Manager at the time. Others in the elected position of Business Manager included Bob Danderson, Bill Tarallo, Dave Bofinger, Cynthia Phinney, Dick Rogers and now Tony Sapienza.

We have grown our Local into a 1,600 member union for Utility and Communication workers throughout Maine and New Hampshire, with our own offices, meeting hall, newsletter, a staff of one business manager, one assistant business manager, two business representatives, one office employee, and a 15-member Executive Board. Our Organizing group has been successful in growing our ranks and creating more contract work for the staff.

During the 1990's, at a time when problems arising from Corporate reorganizations of the Companies where IBEW 1837 members worked put a lot of pressure on available union staff resources, members voted to raise dues to hire a second Assistant Business Manager. Our past Assistant Business Managers from both states were Joe Nixon, Bill Burr, Phil Place, Bill Tarallo, Dave Adams, Bob Dodge, Kerry Guptill, Thom Clements, Bill Dunn and Tom Ryan. Renee Gilman is now an Assistant Business Manager while Kitty Kilroy and Kaitlyn Hegarty are Business Representatives.